Site map
 English » DOCUMENTS 
DOCUMENTS   versione testuale

This section contains the main documents which, together with the Sapientia christiana, constitute the basis for evaluations. In this context, it is important to point out that there are two types of university level academic centres of education in the Catholic Church, which are distinguished according to the aims and contents of their study programmes:
1) Ecclesiastical universities and faculties;
2) Catholic Universities.
Ecclesiastical universities, faculties and other academic institutions carry out teaching and research in disciplines related to the Christian revelation and are therefore involved in the Church’s mission of evangelization. These institutions are governed by a common international body of academic laws, based on the 1983 Code of Canon Law (canons 815-821), the 1979 Apostolic Constitution Sapientia christiana and the Ordinationes (implementing measures) of the CEC. They grant academic qualifications under the authority of the Holy See. The civil recognition of ecclesiastical academic qualifications must be regulated by the national laws of the country in which the institution is based in line with international agreements – such as the Lisbon Convention – and with bilateral agreements with other States, when present.
Ecclesiastical universities must comprise at least four faculties, three of which are usually the classical faculties cited by the Sapientia christiana: Theology, Canon Law and Philosophy. A faculty deals in depth with a specific area of knowledge according to the appropriate scientific method. Studies are divided into three cycles, at the end of which the following academic qualifications are awarded: Baccalaureate, Licentiate, Doctorate.

Ecclesiastical faculties can be either independent or part of an ecclesiastical or Catholic, public or private university.
There are other types of ecclesiastical Institutions in addition to universities and ecclesiastical faculties:

• affiliated institutions - institutions that offer only first cycle courses, which are connected to a faculty for the purpose of granting first cycle degrees;

• aggregated institutions - offering first and second cycle courses, connected to a faculty for the purpose of granting first and second cycle degrees;

• incorporated institutions - offering second and/or third cycle courses and connected to a faculty for the purpose of granting the corresponding academic qualifications;

• Higher Institutes of Religious Sciences (HIRS) - offering only first and second cycle degree courses; they are connected to and under the academic control of ecclesiastical faculties of Theology. The aim of HIRS is to promote the religious training of both lay and ordained people for professional roles within heart of contemporary society (Congregation for Catholic Education, Reform of the Higher Institutes of Religious Sciences, art. 2);

• various ecclesiastical academic centres which have the academic form of institutions “ad instar Facultatis”, or other forms, grant the relevant ecclesiastical qualifications.
Listed below is a selection of useful Quality Assurance documents and tools.

General documents:

Internal evaluation documents:

External evaluation documents: Evaluation tools:  
© 2010 AVEPRO